WWW – Wednesdays – 16th July

It’s been more than a year since I last played along WWW Wednesdays. Of course there can be plenty of excuses given like all the traveling in India before packing up Baroda; volunteering in Uttarakhand after the floods and then the whole move to Africa and settling in. (See I just gave so many! 😛 )

WWW Wednesday is a reading game started by MizB at Should Be Reading. A simple game of telling (every week) about the books you have read, are reading and wish to read. To play along, you just have to answer the following three (3) questions…

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

What am I currently reading?

“Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.” – C.S. Lewis

www wednesday, classic fairy talesFor me that time is now and every night before going to bed I have started reading one fairy tale. Currently I’m reading from Berlie Doherty’s Classic Fairy Tales.  I love the illustrations by Jane Ray and also the way Berlie has narrated the stories. Just yesterday I read the Beauty and the Beast. And I remembered the quote that “a thing must be loved before it is lovable!” I love fairy tales and how does it matter if I’m grown up… It’s still fun to go to sleep with some magic 🙂

www wednesday, a Christmas carolAlong with that I’m also reading a classic – “A Christmas Carol” by Charles Dickines. Enjoying the visits with the Spirits and Scrooge but also enjoying the words and the archaic English!

“Old Marley was as dead as a doornail.

Mind! I don’t mean to say that, of my own knowledge, what there is particularly dead about a doornail. I might have been inclined, myself, to regard a coffin-nail as the deadest piece of ironmongery in the trade. But the wisdom of our ancestors is in the simile; and my unhallowed hands shall not disturb it, or the Country’s done for. You will therefore permit me to repeat, emphatically, that Marley was as dead as a doornail.”

What did I recently finish

I recently finished I am Malala. I had picked it up at Delhi airport this time. Not that it was in my list of books to read but as I was browsing through the books, the photograph of Malala Yousafzai was almost staring from the cover and I couldn’t stop myself from picking it.

www wednesday, I am MalalaMalala Yousafzai is a youth icon now, everyone knows about how she was shot by the Taliban for speaking out and the following chain of events from her surgery to the UN speech on her 16th birthday. But what happened before and between those events. Who is this 16 year old girl? Becoming a hero somewhere takes away the childhood, I wanted to know what she liked as a young girl, not as a hero. I also had the question of Why her? There were so many people shot by the Taliban, why was she the only one flown to UK and saved?

In the beginning it seemed like the book is really meant for the Western audience, she explains how many Muslims are misguided into jihad and the holy Quran is misinterpreted deliberately by some leaders. But slowly she narrates how beautiful life was in swat before the Taliban and how slowly all their freedoms were taken away one by one.

I cannot imagine how it would ever be to live with the sounds of gunshots and bombs; to walk to the market and find a bloody body in the square; to live in the fear of safety for self and your loved ones. She narrates it all and it somehow transports you to life as it had become in swat valley after the Taliban. And in the face of it, you start to admire her father for being so supportive and encouraging. I smiled when she said “I wish the only problem I had was that a boy is troubling me!” And isn’t that the biggest problem of most teenagers!

How it would be for a child (that is what she really is!) to wake up days after being shot in a foreign hospital, in a foreign country and without seeing anyone she recognises! Won’t that be scary? How is it for a mother who is so used to community life, to live on foreign soil, where she does not speak the language or know anyone. How would life be if with every loud noise, all she wants to do is check if her daughter is safe?

What do I think I will read next?

I actually don’t know the answer to that right now… I had left  A Mighty Heart  in between because I started having goose bumps just by thinking the next events that were to happen and since I (actually we all do!) knew the ending, I was sad from the beginning.. but I think this is the one I will pick up again.

Categories: Books | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “WWW – Wednesdays – 16th July

  1. I love reading fairy tales! I hope that you’re enjoying them.

  2. hey Ashima! Its good to see you back 🙂 even I have missed quite a number of WWWs. 😛
    As for your books, I like your idea of re-reading the classics and also, reading a fairy tale before going to sleep is a lovely idea 🙂
    Even I picked up I AM MALALA in an airport (Cochin) and yes you simply cant ignore her staring at you from the cover. But then, I am yet to start reading it…..hope to do it soon.

Share your thoughts

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.