So much to learn!

Today I started my day thinking the first thing I have to work on is the Moved by Love newsletter. But little did I know there were other plans for in store 🙂 I went out to water my plants. I had sown tomato and green beans about a week ago and every day I have been peeping into the seed pots to see if there is anything. Just like didi’s little scientists! To tell you the truth though I love to have plants, I don’t really have a green hand. I have never had a plant growing from a seed 😦 All my seeds till now have only resulted in weeds. All the plants that I have started with a sapling bought from a nursery or gifted from a friend like this mint.

apartment gardening

mint growing in my balcony! The plant was gifted by a neighbour when we moved in.

The now image of the mint would have been even more amazing but while I was away in India, all the people I had asked to water my plants somehow missed and it got water only for a week in those 4 weeks 😦 The plant dried up a little but then picked up again once rains started! I still wonder at the magic rain water has for plants.

apartment gardening

new born baby! 🙂

Last year when we were in Baroda, one of my tulsi plants had almost died. Even though I watered it everyday, nothing happened for a month and then monsoons came and as if it got a new life. There were fresh sprouts! In just a few weeks I had a flourishing tulsi again!

And another magic happened today. I saw the beginning of sprouting from my green bean seeds! 🙂 I had borrowed only two seeds from my neighbour and one of them sprouted today and I can see the beginnings of something coming up from the second seed!! Yay!!! I immediately took a picture and sent it to Sikander.

But what really inspired me to write about it is something that my cousin shared on facebook today which was the first thing I read when I opened my laptop:

“When I’m requested to speak to youngsters I like talking about this phase of my life and liken it to fascinating plant: The Chinese Bamboo. You can take a Chinese bamboo seed and plant it in the ground, water and nurture the seed for an entire year & not even see a single sprout. Infact, you’ll not see a sprout for 5 years. But suddenly, a tiny shoot will spring from the ground. And over the next 6 weeks, the plant can grow as tall as 90 feet. It can grow as fast as 39 inches every 24 hours. You can literally watch the plant grow.

What was the plant doing during these 5 years, seemingly dormant period, it was growing its roots. For 5 full years it was preparing itself for rapid, full growth. Without this root structure, the plant simply couldn’t support itself for its future growth. Some would say the plant grew 90 feet in 6 weeks, I would say it grew 90 feet in 5 years & 6 weeks”

Rahul Dravid

 

I was wondering 5 years and 6 weeks! And here I am getting impatient when nothing grows from the seeds for a month! There is so much to learn from plants. And the lesson is different for everyone depending on their own experience and involvement with the plant.

I have a tomato plant which was also a gift and everybody tells me its not a great idea to have tomatoes because before I can pluck them, the birds will get to them! The plant is currently blooming and while I am eagerly waiting for the first fruits, I am happy to have birds feast on them. Reminds me of a saying:

“water the roots and surrender the fruits.”

It takes about a week for a new leaf to come in my money plant (don’t know it’s technical name but that’s what it is called all over India!) and I’m waiting for a day when I can wound it around my balcony.. currently it has only 10 leaves! So I have a long way to go and maybe by the time I’m able to do so, it will be time to leave Angola, but still every day I go and I observe the process of a new leaf coming up! 🙂

I had a basil plant that had been attacked by a colony of ants. I didn’t know what to do… The plant was slowly dying and I had access to no medicine that I could put in it so I just watched and one day I saw a smaller sapling coming up in the same pot which was free of any ants! A few days later I removed the older plant and replanted the smaller sapling and it is now one of the most beautiful basil that I have! (Which I recently used to make my freshest tomato-basil soup!) What was it teaching me? Sacrifice? Life and death?

apartment gardening

Categories: Family, go green | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “So much to learn!

  1. nice post Ashima! 🙂
    I would like to suggest you something, if you plant the plants in a earthen/clay pot, the plants thrive better. I have seen the difference between my plastic tubs and the earthen ones at home. 🙂

    • Ashima

      Thanks Madhu!

      I am sure they will do better in earthen pots.. I’ve observed the same in India but one I still haven’t found earthen pots here in Luanda and also I am trying to reuse the 5L plastic water bottles through my garden… we have to buy water here and there is no recycling.. 😦

      Do you think if I regularly change the pot, they will be better? Send me any gardening tip that you have 🙂

      • changing the pots regularly might help……m not sure though :/
        Gardening tips and me……nahi re, I don’t have any which u don’t know already 😕

Share your thoughts

Blog at WordPress.com.