A new magic every day!

It’s already 9 days into the new month but for me the month practically starts today. The first week of June was just busy with packing and travelling and settling back. Finally this week life has returned to some normalcy. While I was in India, I made many plans for the things I want to do once I get back to Angola (don’t know how many will start :P!):

  • Learn how to make a website using wordpress
  • Get back to sketching and learn to paint
  • Experiment with food more. For some reason in Angola I had just fallen into regular cooking routine. It has been such a long time since I tried something new and in this trip my sister inspired me to do more with food and flavours! 🙂 So hopefully My Weekend Kitchen will also get its activity back!
  • I want to do more art for gifting to strangers. I met Swara after a long time and she told me how our one day’s activity of writing letters to strangers had motivated her and she continues to do so even now. When she told me this I felt how I need to pick this one again. So I will be doing more art to gift. I even brought lots of handmade paper, colours and pens with me! 🙂

But one thing that I brought from home and I’m very excited to use is my box of coloured chalk and a small slate! I fell in love with chalk as a medium of art after seeing Lahar’s beautiful creations all over Sugad campus during Moved by Love retreats. Her hands would create magic on the floor and one thing which she said that stayed with me was the beauty of impermanence that chalk brings. Your creating is cleaned the next day and every day you start with a clean slate! Every day a different magic comes alive through your hands…

I was also inspired by the sidewalk chalk projects that many people have been doing all around the world and while I don’t think I will have enough chalk to do that; I plan to hang my slate on my window/ balcony with a beautiful quote every day and that would be my gift for each day for those who read it 🙂

I started yesterday, these are my first two!

art with heart, quotations in chalk on window

Categories: Family, Volunteer | Tags: , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “A new magic every day!

  1. I love the idea of the chalk project….do share pics of the ones you do 🙂

  2. HI Ashima,
    Love the quotes, and the simplicity of the blackboard. 🙂

    Lemme know if you need help with the WP site. I’ve set up a few and can send across pointers.

    • Ashima

      Hey thanks 🙂 I am yet to start on WordPress so all pointers are most welcome! 🙂

  3. This is an excellent idea. Keep going!!

  4. Pingback: Tangling up | Lime 'n' Lemony

Share your thoughts

Blog at WordPress.com.