What will you do?

22nd April is Earth Day. I didn’t know about any such day until about a week ago when events about Earth Day celebration started featuring in my news feed. And today my 4 year old niece told me that she is practising for an Earth Day painting competition happening in her school tomorrow. I never celebrated Earth Day in my school or college, so I thought it must be a recent thing (10 years or so) to celebrate Earth. But when I looked it up on the Internet, I was actually impressed to read it’s 42 years old history.

I work towards promoting volunteerism in India and interact with a lot of volunteers on a daily basis. Sometime I’m at a loss when people ask me difficult questions like “How can I as an individual eradicate poverty from the country? If I can’t do much, why should I try?”. But if I think of Earth Day; celebrating Earth would mean celebrating everything we have received from her (it). It’s water day, food day, animal day, climate day, anti-pollution day all rolled into one – giving us unlimited options of celebration. If I don’t run my tap idle, I’m celebrating Earth Day; If I don’t waste paper, I’m celebrating Earth Day; If I water the plants, I’m celebrating Earth Day. It’s so easy :).

And why do we need an Earth Day? Shouldn’t Every Day be Earth Day? We use our planet every day, why not celebrate it every day?

Here is a list of 7 things that I will change/adopt to celebrate Earth every day for 7 days; every week for 4 week; every month for 12 months; every year till I can.

  1. I will put a pot of water for birds to drink on my balcony
  2. I will walk to shorter distance
  3. I will minimise my AC/heater usage. I will increase AC temperature by a degree in summers. (Every degree lower in the winter or higher in the summer you put it is a 10 percent decrease on your energy bill.)
  4. I will run my washing machine on cold temperature
  5. I will switch off all appliances from the mains switch, when not in use.
  6. I will use vegetable leftovers in the kitchen like coriander stems, spinach stems, cucumber & carrot peels, cabbage core etc to make vegetable stock instead of throwing them
  7. I will carry my own reusable bag for shopping

What will you do?

Categories: go green, recycle, Volunteer | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “What will you do?

  1. I’ve been following all the above more often than not.. but my experience with birds is the most hilarious.. I keep a pot for them and every time the water gets over, they (the birds) throw the pot down.. Luckily till now they have thrown it inside the balcony and not outside on a passer’s by head! 😛

    • hey ashima,
      this is abby! nice to catch you in action. Sheeba and I have two boys, 5 and 4 and both are not yet in school. Will write to you on email. I can be reached at my old email id fromkodur or forkodur at the very rate of gmail

Share your thoughts

Blog at WordPress.com.