How easy it is to forget …

We were once ignorant. We had to be taught everything. We asked way too many questions. Yet our parents answered them. again and again. no matter how often we asked. They answered them. How easily we forget that.

A friend recently shared this video and I couldn’t stop crying. The video took me back to a similar incident I had with my mother many years ago.

Every time me or my sister went back home, we would get our laptops with us and our mother was very fascinated. Then in between I had shifted to US for a year in 2005 and ISD calls were still very expensive so we told our mom to start using skype and that was her first direct interaction with computers. She was so amazed that she started learning computers all by herself. She even took like a 15 day course on computer basics. This is almost 8 years ago. She would practice at home and whenever she had a problem; she will call me. I would try to resolve her issue as best as I could but in most cases since I couldn’t see what was the problem, I would just tell her to ask one of my cousins who was staying close by.  This continued for months and once I remember I asked “Why do you always call me; why don’t you call didi?”

And then one day, I became irritated. I think I was trying to explain double click on phone. And I said “don’t ask me.. Find someone in Jaipur.” For a minute there was a silence at the other end of the line and then she just said “You know you didn’t come into the world knowing ABCD.”

And I was dumbstruck for some time and then I just started crying… Ever since that day, even the thought of losing patience with her didn’t come to my mind… I am amazed at how much she has learnt on her own. This was more than 7 years ago and I’m still saying sorry to her for that day and she keeps saying she doesn’t even remember :) Mothers are so forgiving! and as her child I was so thankless :'(.

Categories: Family | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “How easy it is to forget …

  1. Yes, Mothers are forever forgiving :) That what makes them the best! :)

Share your thoughts

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 246 other followers