Coming Home

coming home, schlumberger, Angola12/12/2013, on board Emirates

It’s that time again. Time when we pack our bags and get ready to move another country and this time it’s Africa! This time it has been different. In the past we have travelled together to the new country. We have explored and experienced everything for the first time in the new place together. This time we had to split up. All because of the visa rules of the country. Sikander had to leave first on a temp visa. On reaching Angola he would then apply for his work permit and once that comes can I start any process for my temp visa in India. And all in all, taking care of all the beaureucracy in Angola and in India, it took 3 months. For the first time in 5 years, we lived away for such a long time. This used to happen when we were dating and lived in two different continents!

But no matter how difficult these 3 months had been to live separate and also to live without any home; I don’t want to trade them. There were challenges and in those challenges I grew many years; I learnt so much about myself that I still am trying to understand it all! J

We packed our home in August and it still is in a storage container in Bombay! Sikander left for Angola on September 11th and I stayed behind with one back pack, traveling, volunteering, learning, meeting friends and family and waiting to join Sikander.

As I sit here in the plane, waiting for my flight to land, I have a strange and fresh excitement. I feel like I’m taken back by 7-8 years when taking that flight to US to see him would cause butterflies in the stomach J.

I’m coming home.

Categories: Family, Travel | Tags: , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Coming Home

  1. Enjoy!!! :)

  2. Good luck with your new life!

  3. Pingback: Along came a friend… | Lime 'n' Lemony

Share your thoughts

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers